Kristen’s Exercise Series: Bangkok by Bike

I feel it’s been fairly well established that I am not, how shall we say, the most athletic of gals (although I’m trying to change that – and started this evening with a run on the beach at sunset. Not too shabby, not too shabby!).

Despite this, I decided I take a leap and sign up for the Grasshopper Adventures night tour of Bangkok by bike, a couple of nights after arrival. I figured at the very least, it would be a chance for me to chat with other people (and thankfully it was, after about two days of being pretty alone).

This four hour tour took us all around Bangkok, including on a ferry to the other side of the river, exploring temple complexes after the crowds have left, and wandering throughout a night flower market while munching on fresh fruit (I elected not to partake in eating fried grasshopper. Baby steps here, people).

So what did I learn in the latest edition of my exercise series?

Bike riding leads to sooooreeeness

Dudes. I was so sore the next day. I don’t even want to talk about it. And very tender in my … um… bottom area. OUCH.

Philosophically: when you think you can’t get up the hill, just find another way

Actually: I couldn’t bike up a really steep hill. It’s okay. I make lamb. Or just get off and push my bike up the hill.

And the next hill you reach, maybe you get over this time.

AND I DID. Thank you, thank you. I’m a pro by now.

Sidebar: the reason why one drinks bottled drinks out of a bag and straw in Thailand is because the stand has to recycle the bottle.

Fun fact courtesy of the awesome guide.

Thai kids are SO CUTE

Everywhere we went, little kids shouted “HELLO!” at us and waved furiously as we went past. Some little rascals on their own bikes even joined us for a spell.

Most importantly…. Bangkok at night is just beautiful. And 1000% cooler. Although I was still wicked sweaty by the end. And apparently a little Bostonian.

Wat Arun at night

When you gotta go, you gotta go.

Catholic church in the middle of Bangkok… my favorite part is the neon cross at the top. Nice mix of traditional and Bangkokish.

Rows of roses at the flower market – each bouquet only about $10. Gentleman? 

SEE I DID DO IT. (Or I cleverly stole a bike to pose for this picture)


Leave a comment