Gemina: Plot and Design

I read a lot of books for different reasons. Sometimes, it’s because I’ve read previous books by the same author and will always put them on the must-read list in the future (I’m looking at you, Rainbow Rowell and Gayle Forman). Sometimes, it’s because the book community/the world won’t stop talking about it (hello, Underground Railroad. I will read you eventually!). Sometimes, I just like the sound of it even though it’s not a super-praised book (most books I read).

I can’t remember why I first read Illuminae, but I vaguely remember hearing that it was a “different” kind of book in that it is told in a “dossier of hacked documents” (emails, diagrams, video transcripts, IMs). Interesting thought, but the execution is SO much more. This is a book that is designed to be read in real, hard-copy form (I’m curious how they design it for the ebook, though. I can’t imagine it translating well to your basic Kindle reader, but it might be okay in an iPad or Kindle Fire). I just loved the first book, as my review at the time showed:

DAMN. What a fascinating book! I went in knowing absolutely nothing about it, and am just swept away. Probably the most interestingly crafted book I’ve read just in terms of how the text is displayed and information communicated. At the heart of it, the plot could have been expressed in the “normal” way that books are written. But pulling the plot into a variety of communication techniques – IMs, video surveillance feeds, maps, even text art – just swept it to a higher level. I’m exceedingly pleased I got the book in hardcover and not as an ebook. I can’t imagine it would express itself in the same way on a screen as it does on the page.

Just when I thought the book was wrapping up nicely, they throw in a punch right at the very end to get us to the next book. I’m glad that the book had an actual ending for this plot (instead of a cliffhanger with the main characters), but it was smart to drop in the little nugget it did as I am very excited for book #2

So, OBVIOUSLY I had to pick up the second book (Gemina) as soon as it was available.

WHAT I READ:

Gemina, by Amie Kaufman and Jay Kristoff.

SNAPSHOT REVIEW:

On a scale of 1 to 5 space parasites, I give this 5 confusing scientific twists.

#FirstFifty Synposis:

While this book does have pages, it’s so uniquely designed that to try to capture fifty pages would do it an injustice. Instead, here’s a sample of that unique design (during this point, a character is crawling through the vents) – not every page has to have just words, chums.

img_3893

HOW IT MADE ME FEEL:

tumblr_lpdybxuiss1qf4wvco1_500

9481076

lhjhbb9

NEED MORE?

Ugh, don’t we all. More juicy deets over on Goodreads, and the third one is coming out at some point in the future?!

In the meantime, I just added these books to my “buy in real life, don’t just rent from the library” list which is HIGH praise indeed.

Leave a Reply

