Crooked Kingdom

Sometimes, I read a book that everyone in the world proclaims is ABSOLUTELY AMAZING and NOT TO MISS and it turns out to be garbage (I’m looking at you, Eligible. Don’t believe the hype, people!).

Sometimes, you read a book that everyone in the world proclaims is ABSOLUTELY AMAZING and NOT TO MISS and it turns out to be 100% true.

For me, that book last year was Six of Crows by Leigh Bardugo. My entire review of the book (read by me in October 2015) was “YAS YAS YAS please make this into a movie, world.”

So, needless to say, as soon as the second book in the duology came out, I got my grubby little mitts on it (or, more accurately, as soon as the library hold came up, I collected it promptly).

WHAT I READ:

Crooked Kingdom, Leigh Bardugo (Book #110 of 2016)

SNAPSHOT REVIEW:

On a scale of 1 to 5 criminals with a heart of gold, I give this 5 elaborate capers.

#FirstFifty Synopsis:

Crooked Kingdom picks up where Six of Crows left off: Inej has been captured by Van Eck, Nina is suffering the aftereffects of the parem, and everyone is trying to figure out how to get the 30 million kruge they were promised for the heist. The first fifty pages are dedicating to breaking Inej out – and Inej trying to rescue herself. Of course, Kaz wouldn’t be Kaz if he didn’t have six other plans and scams formulating at the same time.

HOW IT MADE ME FEEL:

giphy2

giphy

giphy1

NEED MORE:

I stand by my assertion with the last book: these two books would make amazing movies. They are just fast-paced, rollicking, plot-driven novels that are interesting from cover to cover. I also appreciate the character development that happens, even with so many characters to explore.

If you want something supremely entertaining, easy to read, but still juicy and compelling, this is the one.

Leave a Reply

