When You Need Trash Over Treasure

It finally happened: One of the most hotly anticipated books of the fall made its way off the library holds list and into my hot little hands:  The Underground Railroadby Colson Whitehead.

Everything I’ve heard about this book could not be more positive. Oprah picked it as one of her book club reads, it has 10k+ ratings on Goodreads and a 4.07 average, and I’ve been excited to read it for a while.

And yet… back to the library it goes, before I get the chance to crack the cover. WHY?!

A confluence of events, my friends.

  1. Timing. Isn’t it always the case that you’re the 200th person on a library hold list, and the book somehow comes in right before you go on vacation? And said book is a 7-day borrow, with the return date falling squarely in the middle of my vacation… unless I sped through the book in the three days before I left, I knew I wouldn’t be able to return it without a fine.
  2. How I feel about speeding through this book. Normally, I’m a pretty fast reader – on average I can get through a book in about 2-3 days, maybe only 1 day if I’m feeling literary. But even though I had enough time to read it before leaving  for vacation, I just really wasn’t in the mood when it came down to it. I’ve been battling an outer ear infection in both ears this week, leaving me exhausted and in pain as I settle down for bed; far better to distract me with Netflix and a dumb book I’ve read before. So, Chasing Life (to remind me my medical ailment is not all that bad) and Something Blue (because I secretly really like that book) have been my elixirs of choice instead of this one.

 

Sorry, Underground Railroad. I promise I’ll get to you someday.

Leave a Reply

